According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance, all drivers in our state must carry liability coverage that includes $15,000 for bodily injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury to multiple people in a single accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Despite this law, 13.9 percent of motorists in Louisiana were uninsured in 2012.
If you sustained debilitating injuries in a collision with an uninsured or underinsured driver, contact The Ross Downs Law Firm to discuss your options for recovering compensation. Ross Downs has been practicing law for more than 20 years, and he will help you avoid costly mistakes that could harm your claim. Call 1-888-771-9800 to schedule a consultation with an accident lawyer in Shreveport.
Read on to learn about three potential ways to recover compensation after a crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver:
- File a Claim against Your Uninsured Motorist (UM) Policy
In order to recover compensation from your insurance company following a collision with an uninsured motorist, you must have uninsured motorist coverage. If you purchased insurance in the state of Louisiana, you should have UM coverage unless you declined it by filing the necessary paperwork. If you were injured by an uninsured motorist, your UM policy should cover your property damage and bodily injuries, minus your deductible and up to your policy limits.
Even if you have uninsured motorist coverage, it is likely that your insurer will look for any possible excuse to deny or undervalue your claim. This is why it is important to enlist the help of a personal injury attorney. Insurance companies tend to take claims filed by lawyers more seriously, and your attorney can help you avoid mistakes such as making a recorded statement to the insurance adjuster or accepting a settlement too early.
- Personal Injury Protection
If you opted out of UM coverage, you may be able to recover compensation if you have Personal Injury Protection. PIP covers healthcare expenses and lost wages no matter who was at fault for a wreck.
- File a Claim against the Liable Driver
Even if the person who caused the collision did not have adequate insurance coverage, he or she is still liable for your damages. Unfortunately, drivers who do not carry insurance typically do not have the necessary finances or assets to pay for the damages they cause. Your accident lawyer can investigate your case to determine if filing a claim against the at-fault driver would be worth your time.
If you were injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver in Louisiana, contact The Ross Downs Law Firm to discuss your case. Ross Downs will interview witnesses, gather evidence, examine your insurance policies, and help you fight for the maximum compensation. If your case goes to trial, Mr. Downs has the litigation experience to represent your interests in court. Call 1-888-771-9800 to schedule an initial consultation with a car accident attorney in Louisiana.