Recovering from debilitating injuries is physically challenging and emotionally draining, but it is the financial impact of a motor vehicle collision that can devastate accident victims and their families for years. In Louisiana alone, for example, traffic deaths cost more than $1 billion in medical bills and lost income over the course of a single year.
Two Drivers Arguing After Traffic Accident Crop Shot Of Crash.
Because the financial toll of even a minor wreck can amount to tens of thousands of dollars, most states have mandatory liability coverage requirements. Motorists must present proof of insurance in order to register their vehicles in these states, and if they fail to maintain an active policy, they could face severe penalties.
If you were hurt in a collision with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, turn to The Ross Downs Law Firm. A Bastrop car wreck lawyer will review the details of your case and help you determine the most strategic way to proceed.
In certain scenarios, it may be possible to recover compensation from a reckless driver who does not have liability coverage by filing a personal injury claim. Call 1-888-771-9800 to schedule a free consultation.
Is Purchasing Car Insurance Mandatory for Louisiana Motorists?
Louisiana is a tort state, which means when an accident occurs, the liable party is financially responsible for any damages that arise. This includes both direct costs, like ambulance fees and hospital bills, and indirect costs, like lost income due to missed work.
Because most crashes are the result of driver error, virtually everyone is at risk of causing or getting into a collision whenever they get behind the wheel. Even those who are operating a perfectly maintained vehicle on a clear, dry day could find themselves in a catastrophic wreck with a drunk, distracted, or negligent driver.
For this reason, everyone who registers a vehicle in the state is obligated to carry a certain amount of liability insurance and is encouraged to purchase uninsured motorist coverage. The mandatory minimum requirements in Louisiana include:
- $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person;
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident; and
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
Individuals are also encouraged to purchase uninsured motorist coverage of at least $15,000 in bodily injury per person and $30,000 per crash; however, you have the right to waive this coverage. If funds are tight, for example, you may be considering forgoing such insurance.
At the end of the day, though, getting into a collision with an uninsured motorist could end up costing a lot. Since getting into such an accident is entirely possible, it is wise to purchase a supplemental policy. According to the Insurance Information Institute, an estimated 13 percent of drivers in Louisiana did not have liability coverage in 2015.
If you were hurt in a crash with an uninsured motorist, a Bastrop car wreck attorney can help you explore all potential avenues for pursuing compensation. Contact The Ross Downs Law Firm today to determine how you can build a strong claim.
Ross Downs has been practicing law for more than 20 years. Call 1-888-771-9800 to schedule a free case evaluation. You can learn more about car accident claims in Louisiana by visiting USAttorneys.com.